Renewed Spirit {Day 70}

I feel SO MUCH BETTER!! Yes, my spirit is renewed! Is the pain gone? No way! That will take a long time, and even then it will probably never be fully gone. But it’s back under control, and I’m focusing on the positive, and the spirit of God!

It’s such a gorgeous weather day today! I had quit walking over the Summer for a number of reasons. I went for a walk a couple times over the past week, and it felt good. So this morning, I decided I needed that back in my life. The breeze was cool, and the weather perfect. So I laced up my tennis shoes, grabbed my headphones, and hit the trail. I have a playlist that consists of the Christian music artists I have on my iPod. Currently, that includes David Crowder Band, Rebecca St. James, and Red. There’s so many more I want to get, but, like everything else, in time. Now, I listen to these songs all the time! But today, as I was walking, I truly listened to the lyrics of each and every one, and there was so much meaning! Of course I have my iPod set to shuffle. And the order of music that it played was so fitting! First, I heard a few songs that bring out all the pain, and they make me cry almost every time I hear them! Then, on the way back, it was all songs of rejoicing and joy! Transforming my day and my spirit, moving out that pain, and reminding me of what I need to rejoice in!

In other news, I went to church last night. I almost didn’t go for a couple reasons, but the why doesn’t really matter. Anyway, a few weeks ago, a friend sent me an invite to sit in a section of the church where a lot of area folks sit. I’ve been considering it since then, but hadn’t taken that step. So we ran into someone we knew from the area on our way into church, and were invited to sit with them. The very location I was invited to by the other friend. I guess it was time to take that step! And I had actually been thinking about it last night, too. Timing, or what?

Ok, on to the service. Henry Cloud was speaking. The topic of discussion was based on Ecclesiastes 3

 1 There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity under the heavens:

2 a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot,
3 a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,
4 a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,
5 a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,
6 a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,
7 a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to speak,
8 a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace.

He pointed out how this string of verses is talking of beginnings, and endings. How our life is filled with them. Sometimes, we need to have endings to make way for new beginnings. Or even just to make way for more growth in what we already have. Similar to pruning a rose bush, we need to do the same with our lives. So much truth there.

After church, I had the privilege of talking with my daughter on the phone for 45 minutes. Such a blessing! She was truly happy, and in a wonderful mood, and just what I needed to hear! The call was initiated by her, too, which made me feel even better. 🙂  After talking with her, I went to write in my journal. Backing up… A couple weeks ago, I needed a new journal. So I went to the book store and looked at all of them. Every. Last. One. I wanted something with meaning, not just a book with blank pages. I ended up walking away with the Serenity Journal. As you can probably guess, it is filled with inspirational quotes, all relating to what is written in the Serenity Prayer. On every other page is a verse from the bible that provides inspiration, and on facing pages a quote. After I write in my journal, I read all the quotes and verses on the pages I’ve written on. At the bottom of the last page I wrote on was the following from, you guessed it, Ecclesiastes 3.

There is a time for everything, and everything on earth has its special season… There is a time to be silent and a time to speak. ~Ecclesiastes 3:1, 7

Coincidence? I don’t really believe in such things. More like God Moment. Now, you see, I’ve been pondering something for the past several days. In two days, by two different people, a question had been posed to me. And it involves this very topic. I’ve been thinking about it all weekend. And here comes the tough part, I’m really not sure what the right choice is. So over the next week, I will be praying for the answer, the wisdom to do the right thing.

Now that I’ve written a novel, I’m to my sharing point. Today, I’d like to share the following song from Rebecca St. James. This was near the end of my playlist today, and I really listened to the words, and it reminded me that I’m not on my time line, I’m on His. And it’s just a fantastic song! Have a listen, and truly hear the words it is speaking. Great stuff!

I drug my son out today, much to his chagrin, as it was time for an update to the photo on our wall. He hates me taking his picture. I used to “use” him all the time to practice. But I’ve been very careful not to do that anymore, and haven’t made him get his picture taken since last year at this time. Once a year isn’t too much to ask, is it? So here he is, my new high schooler, serious as ever. It’s so hard to imagine that we only have four more short years.

Author: Deena

Mother, Sister, Daughter, Photographer, Runner, World Traveler Wannabe. Capturing today's moments for tomorrow. And learning to live in the process.

4 thoughts on “Renewed Spirit {Day 70}”

  1. What a fantastically interesting background, yet it’s not distracting from your son, who draws my eye right away. And he’s looking pretty cool, too. Great photo!

  2. Are those trees in the background? When I first saw the
    picture it made me think he was standing in front of three stainglass windows.

Leave a comment